skip to Main Content


International rules and regulations of the Aviation Obstruction Lights Systems

The Regulations of Aviation Obstruction Lights Systems

Aircraft warning lights are used to prevent aircraft collisions to high structure and make high structures more visible for day and night with lighting devices.

Aircraft warning lights to be used in high-rise buildings have been categorized according to specific characteristics by ICAO Annex 14 regulations (International Civil Aviation Organization) such as beam pattern, light intensity and light color.

ICAO Annex 14 – Visual Aids for denoting obstacles

Light types to be used in the structure are stated in part ICAO Annex 14 (Airports) Chapter 6 – Visual Aids for denoting obstacles.

Well known or most common international and national regulations to apply for aircraft warning lights systems are ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization) , ATEX, FAA (Federal Aviation Authority) . The national standard is SHGM (Turkish Civil Aviation Organization) regulations.

Explosion or Ex-proof lights to be used in harsh environments and dangerous area must be certified according to the ATEX / IECEx regulations.

According to the type and height of structure WETRA low intensity aviation obstruction lights, medium intensity aviation obstruction lights, and high intensity aircraft warning lights meet the ICAO Annex 14, FAA and SHGM standarts .

WETRA aviation obstruction lights are resistant in all weather conditions, extremely in hot and cold weather conditions. Work and alarm status of On the other hand, WETRA Led aircraft warning lights can be easily traceable and also current monitoring can be integrated into the system.

You can check and download ICAO Annex 14, FAA, and IALA regulations in pdf formats below.

ICAO Regulations Annex 14

ICAO Annex 14 Regulations

FAA Regulations For Aviation Obstruction Lights

FAA (Federal Aviation Authority) Regulations

IALA Regulations For Aviation Obstruction Lights

IALA Regulations

Back To Top